Mission Statement

The Chautauqua County Department of Planning and Development originates programs and activities aimed at improving the community, economy, and quality of life in Chautauqua County. The Department is comprised of two divisions: the Division of Planning & Community Development and the Division of Economic Development.

Division of Planning & Community Development

The Division of Planning and Community Development supports the intelligent and responsible allocation of resources, the promotion of sound growth, the protection and enhancement of the environment, and the advancement of a high quality of life for all Chautauqua County residents.

Division of Economic Development

The Division of Economic Development works to advance economic prosperity throughout the County. The Division is responsible for improving economic conditions through a variety of activities to facilitate private investment, create and retain jobs, and increase the tax base.