randy-fath-dDc0vuVH_LU-unsplash (1)


An agricultural district is a geographic area which consists predominantly of viable agricultural land.  Agricultural operations within the district are afforded benefits and protections to promote the continuation of farms and the preservation of agricultural land.  The benefits include limits to local regulation, limits to publicly funded construction and eminent domain projects, and discouragement of private nuisance lawsuits. Agricultural districts are not zoning districts and are separate from the agricultural assessment program. Learn more about NYS Agriculture Districts Program.

Chautauqua County Agricultural District 8 8-Year Review

Towns of Busti, Carroll, Chautauqua, Ellery, Ellicott, Kiantone, Poland, & Stockton and City of Jamestown

Agricultural District 8 Review Worksheet

The goal of the review process is to identify property that should wither be added or removed from the existing agricultural district boundaries.

Chautauqua County has designated August 1st to August 30th as the thirty (30) day public review period for the eight-year review of District 8. During this thirty (30) day period, any municipality, landowner, or State Agency whose territory is within the Agricultural District may proposed modification to the Agricultural District. Landowners may submit requests to add parcel(s) of predominately viable agricultural land or remove parcel(s).

The Chautauqua County Department of Planning and Development will accept requests from August 1st through August 30th. Please submit all request to the Department of Planning and Development, 201 West Third Street Suite 115, Jamestown, New York 14701 or email to sharpl@chqgov.com on or before 4:30pm on August 30, 2024.

A map of District 8 is on file and open to public inspection a the Clerk’s Office of the Chautauqua County Legislature in Mayville, New York. Please call 716-753-4215 to schedule an appointment.

Interactive Map of Agricultural District Boundaries

(Web-Map Version)

8-Year Review

As instructed by New York State Department of Agriculture & Market Law, the County oversees a review of each agricultural district every eight years. This review differs from the annual inclusion process in that redistricting (both inclusion and exclusion) can be enacted under one resolution by the County Legislature. This is an opportunity for land owners in the district to assist the County in evaluating the current status of agriculture, and to propose modifications to the district boundaries, if any.

Note: This is the only period by which parcels can be removed from the district.

During the review period, land owners are asked to complete the Chautauqua County Agricultural District Review Worksheet.

General Review Process

The Chautauqua County Department of Planning & Development has been designated as the agency responsible for conducting Agricultural District Reviews.

  1. The County receives notice for NYS Ag & Markets that a district review must be completed.
  2. The County published a Notice of Review of the district and collects responses to the Chautauqua County Agricultural District Review Worksheet.
  3. Based on the responses, a report is prepared and presented to the Chautauqua County Agricultural & Farmland Protection Board (AFPB).
  4. After reviewing the report, the AFPB prepare a recommendation of proposed modifications of the district’s boundaries to the County Legislature.
  5. The County Legislature holds a public hearing.
  6. Based on the results of the public hearing and, a resolution is put forth to the County Legislature to enact the modifications, if any.
  7. All materials, resolutions and other documentation are submitted to New York State Department of Agriculture & Markets for approval that the review process was conducted properly according to Agricultural District Law.

Current Agricultural Districts

See below a list of each district’s next review year, acres, and municipalities:

District 1 (2029): 113,503 Acres

  • City of Dunkirk
  • Town of Dunkirk
  • Town of Hanover
  • Town of Pomfret
  • Town of Portland
  • Town of Ripley
  • Town of Sheridan
  • Town of Westfield
  • Village of Brocton
  • Village of Fredonia
  • Village of Silver Creek
  • Village of Westfield

District 7 (2031): 94,587 Acres

  • Town of Clymer
  • Town of French Creek
  • Town of Harmony
  • Town of Mina
  • Town of North Harmony
  • Town of Sherman
  • Village of Panama
  • Village of Sherman

District 8 (2025): 99,006 Acres

  • City of Jamestown
  • Town of Busti
  • Town of Carroll
  • Town of Chautauqua
  • Town of Ellery
  • Town of Ellicott
  • Town of Kiantone
  • Town of Poland
  • Town of Stockton
  • Village of Bemus Point
  • Village of Cassadaga
  • Village of Celoron
  • Village of Falconer
  • Village of Lakewood
  • Village of Mayville

District 10 (2027): 84,814 Acres

  • Town of Arkwright
  • Town of Charlotte
  • Town of Cherry Creek
  • Town of Ellington
  • Town of Gerry
  • Town of Villenova
  • Village of Cherry Creek
  • Village of Sinclairville